Let’s talk about ‘Love Language’

It is one of the most underrated topics in a lot of relationships. I know many relationships that have suffered, continue to suffer and have even ended because of this. Hence, the reason for today’s post. Please note that knowing and understanding your love language and your partner’s emotional needs is vital. With this said, there are five types of love languages; 

Words of Affirmation: This love language conveys affection through verbal acknowledgments, like, kind words and encouragement, love notes, and with the help of technology cute text messages also count . So if compliments make you melt, your love language is probably Words of Affirmation.

Physical Touch: People in this category love when they receive physical signs of affection, such as kissing, holding hands and cuddling. In other words, Physical intimacy and Touch is of great importance to them in relationships. 

Receiving Gifts: People in this category treasure and feel loved when they receive gifts. Some treasure the effort the gift-giver put into it. Please keep in mind that to some, the gift does not necessarily have to be large or expensive; it could be something significant or symbolic to them. It is all about understanding your partner gift needs. If you thrive on the thoughtfulness behind a present, receiving gifts is yours. 

Quality Time: People in this category feel most adored when their partner actively spends time with them, creating memories and memorable moments. They also appreciate love, active listening, eye contact, and attention in relationships.

Acts of Service: This is expressed by thoughtful gestures such as filling up their gas, watering their plants, or cooking them a meal and so on. So if you feel most loved when people do things for you, your love language is Acts of Service.

Please pay attention to this information as they are a very crucial aspect of any relationship. Regardless of the love languages, what’s most important is that you respect their need to receive love in the way that makes them most comfortable and vice versa. So to you reading this, do you recognize your love language? Do you recognize your partner’s love language? Does having this information change anything for you? Feel free to share your thoughts and experiences below. I look forward to them. Have a great weekend.

6 thoughts on “Let’s talk about ‘Love Language’”

  1. I took the test oo and i am more of an acts of service kinda person, followed by quality time and physical touch, its really important that each partner takes the test so they understand each other more.
    Great work mandy

    1. I agree with you. I also took the test as well and Honestly, it has helped me understand my love language.

  2. Identifying ones love language I belive is crucial. Knowing how you want to be loved helps other understand how to love you. Great post.

  3. Thanks for the insightful piece Mandy.
    However, I have a question, can love language change?
    Or can I change the love language of my partner to what suits me and works for me???

    1. People express love differently, and people love to be loved in different ways. I advise that we respect our partner’s love language, and this should reflect vice versa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Please Subscribe